The messenger logo

TIFF unveils its program

By Salome Modebadze
Friday, November 29
The 14th Tbilisi International Film Festival (TIFF) will open with Levan Koguashvili’s Blind Dates at the Amirani Cinema on December 2nd.

After the grand opening the festival will offer viewers a wide selection of art house films including Abdellatife Kechiche’s Blue Is the Warmest Color, Calin Peter Netzer’s Child‘s Pose, Margarethe von Trotta’s Hannah Arendt, Agnieszka Holland’s Burning Bush, Fabio Grassadonia and Antonio Piazza’s Salvo, Marina Zenovich’s Roman Polanski: Odd Man Out and Michael Hoffman’s The Last Station, which will close the festival.

In the international competition section, European directors present their first or second feature films. The winners of the international competition will be awarded with the Golden Prometheus for the Best Film and the Silver Prometheus for Best Direction.

American director Michael Hoffman will be the head of the jury. Other jury members are Iranian director, producer and screenwriter Samira Makhmalbaf, Polish film critic and producer Mateusz Werner, Georgian actor Giorgi Nakashidze and Hungarian architect and set designer Laszlo Rajk.

In the Georgian Panorama competition one Georgian director will receive a ticket to the 2014 Cannes Film Festival as a prize from TBC Bank and the Georgian Institut Francais.

The Georgian Panorama Jury consists of film historians and film critics, the founders of the International Forum for New Cinema at the Berlinale Film Festival, Ulrich Gregor and Erika Gregor (Germany), and film critic and director of the Pesaro International Film Festival Giovanni Spagnoletti (Italy).

The Parajanov Prize has also been established for outstanding aesthetic achievements by the International Fund for Arts and Intercultural Dialogue.

Apart from the screenings, film students and cinema lovers will have an opportunity to attend master classes of international film professionals from the U.S.A., Austria, Britain, Hungary, Israel and other countries. Such film professionals as Michael Hoffman, Ulrich Seidl, Nick Broomfield, Laszlo Rajk, Andras Nagy, Katriel Schory, Robin Campillo and others will give talks and workshops.

For detailed information about the competition sections and films please visit:

We are looking forward to seeing our readers at the TIFF!