The messenger logo

Georgian PM summarizes the Hague Nuclear Security Summit

By Tatia Megeneishvili
Thursday, March 27
Georgia is among the 35 countries out of 54, which have expressed its readiness to establish the appropriate legal framework, governance structure and other measures to advance global nuclear security.

The countries that have signed the statement stated that they believe that this commitment will act as a global example of excellent and transparent behavior in relation to nuclear security. The statement read that all states would fulfill International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Nuclear Security Recommendations on Physical Protection of Nuclear Materials and Nuclear Facilities.

All 35 countries agreed to pay special attention to the cyber security of objects related to nuclear facilities and maintain effective emergency and contingency plans, response and mitigation capabilities in a manner that addresses both nuclear security and safety.

Georgian Prime Minister, Irakli Gharibashvili, signed the document on behalf of Georgia. Other countries that joined the statement were Algeria, Armenia, Australia, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Mexico, Morocco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Poland, the Republic of Korea, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, the United States of America and Vietnam.

"This forum was very useful and was very interesting. World leaders had a chance to share their ideas. Georgia is a vivid leader in the region making a special contribution to world safety," Gharibahsvili said while summarizing the result of his visit to the Netherlands.

According to Gharibashvili, there is a readiness from the side of world leaders to visit Georgia.

Georgian PM said Georgia will be visited by several leaders in the near future, including President of France Francois Orland, the President of Switzerland Didier Burkhalter, The President of European Commission Jose Manuel Durao Barroso, President of the European Council Herman Van Rompuy, Prime Minister of Poland, Donald Tusk, and the Foreign Minister of Denmark, Martin Lidgaard.

The 2014 Nuclear Security Summit in The Hague ended on March 25.