The messenger logo

All EU member states ratify Georgian-EU Association Agreement

By Tatia Megeneishvili
Monday, December 28
All 28 member states of the European Union (EU) have already signed the Georgian-EU Association Agreement (AA), Georgia’s Parliament Speaker Davit Usupashvili has stated, the information also being confirmed by other state officials.

His congratulations came after the only remaining EU member state, Belgium, signed the deal earlier on December 24, and through the step the Georgia–EU Association Agreement ratification process was completed.

“The Federal Parliament of Brussels has already ratified the deal. The last formal procedure for completing the process is the news about the ratification to the issued in a local newspaper, but, as I said, this is just a formality.

“We are waiting for the release of the information in several days, before the end of the year,” Georgia’s Ambassador to the EU, Natalia Sabanadze said.

Part of the AA went into force from September 1, 2014. However, the deal would be only be fully in effect after the ratification process was fully completed.

The Georgian officials stress that since the deal is now in full effect, each Georgian citizen will feel the benefits Georgia can receive from the organization.