The messenger logo

Unrecognized entities hope to become members of Eurasian Union

By Messenger Staff
Tuesday, December 13
The idea promoted by president-to-be Vladimir Putin on creating a Eurasian Union gave hope to the unrecognized countries in the post-Soviet space to become members of this amalgamation. There are several such entities on former Soviet territory. These are the Mountainous Karabakh on the territory of Azerbaijan which is Armenian populated and which has declared its independence in early 1990s. Then there is Transnistria, an entity in Moldova, Russian populated which also declared independence in the beginning of the 1990s and the two territories in Georgia Abkhazia and Tskhinvali Region or South Ossetia which were recognized as independent by Russia after an invasion of Georgian territory in 2008. So far those two entities are recognized only by four more marginal countries Nicaragua, Venezuela, Nauru and Vanuatu.

The near future will show how Putin will promote his idea and how he would treat those unrecognized entities.