The messenger logo

Caspian Sea status talks to be held in Ashgabat

By Messenger Staff
Wednesday, July 11
The Azeri Foreign Minister stated recently that Ashgabat, Turkmenistan will host the meeting of the foreign ministers of the five Caspian Sea countries. Five pre- Caspian countries will meet to discuss once again the legal status of the Caspian Sea. The international legislation does not contain articles of the Caspian Sea because it is a close area and therefore it needs separate regulation elaborated by five Caspian countries. Until the collapse of the Soviet Union, only two sides– the Soviet Union and Iran, had claims over the Caspian Sea’s territory. Today there are Russia, Azerbaijan, Iran, Kazakhstan, and Turkmenistan. Each of those sides wants the biggest piece of cake as possible, as the Caspian Sea is a great source of energy resources.