The messenger logo

Georgia’s foreign Ministry welcomes talks on Iran's nuclear program

By Tea Mariamidze
Wednesday, December 17
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia welcomed the progress reached by the E3+3 states and the Islamic Republic of Iran during the past months of negotiations over Iran's nuclear program.

“We also welcome the agreement reached by the parties on November 24, 2014 to extend the Joint Plan of Action (JPOA) until June 30, 2015 and their readiness to work towards reaching a political framework and finalization of remaining technical details,” the ministry says.

According to the ministry, they support the negotiation process and hope that the parties will be able to achieve a framework agreement by the deadline, which will verifiably ensure the civilian nature of Iran's nuclear program.

“We believe this will be an important step towards lasting peace and stability in the region and the world,” the ministry says.

The EU three (or EU 3, sometimes G-3) refers to France, Germany and the United Kingdom. These countries are considered great powers, with their influence within the European Union and outside it.

The EU 3 + 3 refers to a grouping which includes the EU 3 and China, Russia, and the United States. It was coined when these states joined the diplomatic efforts with Iran with regard to its nuclear program.

At a meeting in Geneva on November 24, 2013, following 10 years of negotiations, the E3+3 and Iran agreed on a first step towards resolving the nuclear dispute. Development of Iran’s nuclear program was stopped and some aspects of it reversed. In return, the EU and US suspended sanctions in certain specific areas.

The Joint Plan of Action’s entry into force on January 20, 2014 opened up the possibility for negotiations on a comprehensive solution on the nuclear dossier. The measures under the Joint Plan of Action were last extended on November 24, 2014 until June 30, 2015 in order to facilitate further negotiations.