The messenger logo

Citizens from ninety-four countries can stay in Georgia for a year without visa

By Gvantsa Gabekhadze
Thursday, June 11
The Georgian government has revealed new approach towards those who can visit Georgia without visas.

Citizens from 94 countries can enter Georgia and stay for a maximum of 360 days.

These countries are: Commonwealth of Australia, Republic of Austria ,Republic of Azerbaijan, Republic of Albania, United States of America, Principality of Andorra, Antigua and Barbud, United Arab Emirates, Argentine Republic, New Zealand, Barbados, Kingdom of Bahrain, Commonwealth of the Bahamas, Republic of Belarus, Kingdom of Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Republic of Botswana, Federative Republic of Brazil, Nation of Brunei, Republic of Bulgaria, Federal Republic of Germany, Kingdom of Denmark, Kingdom of Denmark territories - Faroe Islands, Greenland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, British overseas territories - Bermuda, Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands, Falkland Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands, Gibraltar, British dependant territories - Guernsey, Jersey, Isle of Man, Commonwealth of Dominica, Republic of El Salvador, Republic of Ecuador, Kingdom of Spain, Republic of Estonia, Republic of Turkey, Turkmenistan, Japan, Irish Republic, Iceland, State of Israel, Italian Republic, Canada, State of Qatar, Republic of Cyprus, Republic of Colombia, Republic of Korea, Republic of Costa Rica, Republic of Latvia, Republic of Lithuania, Lebanese Republic, Principality of Liechtenstein, Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, Republic of Mauritius, Malaysia, Republic of Malta, United Mexican States, Principality of Monaco, Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, Kingdom of the Netherlands, Kingdom of Netherlands territories - Aruba, the Netherlands Antilles, Kingdom of Norway, Sultanate of Oman, Republic of Panama, Republic of Poland, Portuguese Republic, Republic of Romania, Russian Federation, Hellenic Republic, Republic of South Africa, Republic of San Marino, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, French Republic, French Republic territories - French Polynesia, New Caledonia, Republic of Seychelles, Saint Vincent and the Grenadine, Republic of Serbia, Republic of Singapore, Slovak Republic, Republic of Slovenia, Republic of Armenia, Kingdom of Thailand, Republic of Tajikistan, Republic of Uzbekistan, Ukraine, Hungary, Republic of Finland, State of Kuwait, Kyrgyz Republic, Republic of Kazakhstan, Kingdom of Sweden, Swiss Confederation, Czech Republic, Holy See, Republic of Croatia, Republic of Honduras.

The EU member states citizens have a possibility to travel in Georgia with a travel document as well as with an ID card that is issued by an EU member state and contains the individualís name, surname, date of birth and a photo.

The new rule also applies to citizens who hold a United Nations (UN) Laissez-Passer, a travel document issued by the UN or its specialized agencies.

The initial version of the law read that citizens from these 94 countries were able to enter Georgia without a visa but they could only stay for a maximum of 90 days in a 180 day period. This law came into force in September 1, 2014 and caused much stir.

It was especially grilled by the former government members, who stated that the restriction would hindered the flow of tourists in the country.

Under the previous government individuals from 118 countries were able to enter Georgia without a visa and stay for a maximum of 360 days.

Georgiaís former deputy Foreign Minister Sergi Kapanadze welcomed the new amendments. However, he stated that those who confused people through the previous changes should be accountable for it.

He also said that Iran, Egypt, Iraq and China should have been in the 94 country list, as attracting tourists from those countries would then be easier.

He also said that the principle of filling the 94 country-list was also unclear.

When it comes to those who are not eligible to cross the border without visas, the cost of obtaining a visa for all citizens all over the globe will cost $50 USD (86 GEL).

Citizens of countries who still need a visa to enter Georgia can apply for a visa online through the web-page: