The messenger logo

Alasania promises 'free' police and army

By Tatia Megeneishvili
Monday, July 18
The leader of the parliamentary opposition Free Democrats (FD) party, Irakli Alasania, says the Georgian police and army will be free from political interference if his party wins the upcoming October 8 parliamentary elections.

Alasania, who previously served as Georgia’s Defence Minister under the current Georgian Dream (GD) Government until November 2014, made his comments on July 16 when he presented the top 20 of his party election list and the party’s election programme.

In his speech before an audience, Alasania said this year’s parliamentary elections would be “historical” for the FD party.

“This is for the first time that we are taking part in the elections independently; this year people will be the locomotive for us to be victorious in the race,” Alasania said.

Speaking about the party's future priorities, Alasania emphasized that “de-politising the police and army would be among the party’s key priorities if we are elected.”

He also said “we will increase salaries in these fields, to make sure the people who work there are motivated enough to appropriately fulfill their tasks.”

Alasania also touched upon the “very hard economic situation in the country”.

“If we want to change the situation we should create an environment that will support business development,” he said and noted his party was composed of the people capable to ensure the positive moves.

The opposition leader also stressed the necessity of taking more active steps to reconcile the people living in Georgia’s two occupied regions of Abkhazia and Tskhinvali with the rest of the Georgian population.

“We must use all the diplomatic tools available,” Alasania stressed.

The top 20 of the FD election list included the most well-known faces of the party.

In particular: Irakli Alasania, Viktor Dolidze, Nino Goguadze, Zurab Abashidze, Irakli Chikovani, Shalva Shavgulidze, Tamar Kekenadze, Alex Petriashvili, Maia Panjikidze, Giorgi Tsagareishvili, Tamar Amashukeli, Davit Onoprishvili, Tamaz Shioshvili, Vakhtang Mchedlidze, Tamar Koberidze, Teimuraz Salukvadze, Baniamin Kasimov, Koka Pruidze, Mikheil Avakyian and Tinatin Revazashvili.