The messenger logo

US stopped financial support for certain countries

By Messenger Staff
Friday, May 12
Nauru, which is among the only four nations which have recognized Georgia’s de facto regions of Abkhazia and Tskhinvali as independent states, lost its US financial assistance as the newly-elected President, Donald Trump, signed a document against Russia’s influences, which includes a section about Georgia.

The section obliged the US administration to stop assistance those nations which recognized Georgia’s occupied regions as independent states.

Only Russia, Venezuela, Nicaragua and Nauru said the regions are independent republics.

As soon as the Russia-Georgia 2008 war was over six countries recognized Abkhazia and Tskhinvali as independent states.

However, Vanuatu and Tuvalu later dropped their recognitions.

US Secretary of State Rex Tillerson and Prime Minister of Georgia Giorgi Kvirikashvili have also signed an agreement to improve the Georgian military's co-operation with NATO forces, foreign media say.

Signed document is an important lever for Georgia in the fight against the recognition of Georgia’s historic lands.

The US is a major financial contributor to the Asian Development Bank, World Bank, UN Children's Fund, World Health Organisation and UN Fund for Population activities, which assist Nauru and many other foreign nations.

US support may encourage Nauru to cancel its recognition of the Georgian territories in the near future.

The example of Nauru will be also a good example for other, mainly less developed countries to refrain from the recognition of Abkhazia and Tskhinvali.

Less developed countries are often targeted by Russia to garner support for its illegal activities, as the whole of the civilised world (and, by extension, developed countries) acknowledge Georgia’s territorial integrity and Russia’s occupant intentions by themselves.