The messenger logo

Georgians Use EU Visa-Free Regime to Travel to Germany, Italy and Greece

By Gvantsa Gabekhadze
Friday, December 1
(TBILISI) – Georgia’s Ministry of Internal Affairs reported recently that citizens with biometric passports are using the new Schengen Zone visa-free regime to travel mainly to Germany, Italy and Greece.

Between March 28 and November 2, a total of 165,059 Georgian passport holders traveled to the EU, with only 379 denied entry.

Out of the total number, 46,045 traveled to Germany; 26,597 to Greece and 22,087 entered Italy. The 379 Georgian citizens denied entry into the EU were turned back in Italy, Poland and Greece.

Schengen officials reported 10,330 cases where Georgian citizens violated the 90-day visa free term

The long-awaited Georgia-EU visa liberalization regime came became official on March 28. The new regime allows Georgians with newly issued biometric passport to travel to the Schengen zone, visa-free, for 90 days out of any 180-day period.